Vikings Waive 3 Players before Tuesday 80-Man Roster Deadline

Danny Etling
Nov 18, 2017; Knoxville, TN, USA; LSU Tigers quarterback Danny Etling (16) moves with the ball against the Tennessee Volunteers during the second half at Neyland Stadium. LSU won 30 to 10. Mandatory Credit: Randy Sartin-USA TODAY Sports

Before the NFL’s trim-down deadline to 80 players on Tuesday, the Minnesota Vikings released a few men and signed two more.

Foremost, RB Ito Smith joined the team. He’s a veteran of the Atlanta Falcons who turns 26 in a few weeks. Everson Griffen also returned, the fourth former Viking to do so this offseason.

These are the rest of the moves:

The Janarius Robinson news is puzzling as no one really knew he was hurt. The other three — Etling, Elliss, and Scott — are unsurprising transactions.



QB1: Kirk Cousins
QB2: Jake Browning
QB3: Nate Stanley
QB4: Kellen Mond

Running Back

RB1: Dalvin Cook
RB2: Alexander Mattison
RB3: Ameer Abdullah
RB4: Kene Nwangwu
RB5: A.J. Rose Jr.
RB6: Ito Smith


FB1: C.J. Ham

Wide Receiver

WR1: Adam Thielen
WR2: Justin Jefferson
WR3: K.J. Osborn
WR4: Chad Beebe
WR5: Dede Westbrook
WR6: Ihmir Smith-Marsette
WR7: Dan Chisena
WR8: Whop Philyor
WR9: Myron Mitchell

Tight End

TE1: Irv Smith, Jr.
TE2: Tyler Conklin
TE3: Brandon Dillon
TE4: Zach Davidson
TE5: Shane Zylstra

Left Tackle

LT1: Rashod Hill
LT2: Christian Darrisaw
LT3: Evin Ksiezarczyk

Right Tackle

RT1: Brian O’Neill
RT2: Blake Brandel
RT3: Zack Bailey


C1: Garrett Bradbury
C2: Mason Cole
C3: Cohl Cabral

Left Guard

LG1: Ezra Cleveland
LG2: Dru Samia
LG3: Kyle Hinton

Right Guard

RG1: Oli Udoh
RG2: Dakota Dozier
RG3: Wyatt Davis


Left Defensive End

LDE1: Danielle Hunter
LDE2: Jalyn Holmes
LDE3: Hercules Mata’afa
LDE4: Everson Griffen

Right Defensive End

RDE1: Stephen Weatherly
RDE2: D.J. Wonnum
RDE3: Kenny Willekes
RDE4: Patrick Jones II

Nose Tackle

NT1: Michael Pierce
NT2: Armon Watts
NT3: James Lynch

3-Tech Defensive Tackle

3DT1: Dalvin Tomlinson
3DT2: Sheldon Richardson
3DT3: Zeandae Johnson

Strongside Linebacker

SLB1: Anthony Barr
SLB2: Blake Lynch
SLB3: Ryan Connelly

Middle Linebacker

MLB1: Eric Kendricks
MLB2: Troy Dye
MLB3: Tuf Borland

Weakside Linebacker

WLB1: Nick Vigil
WLB2: Chazz Surratt


CB1: Patrick Peterson
CB2: Bashaud Breeland
CB3: Mackensie Alexander
CB4: Cameron Dantzler
CB5: Harrison Hand
CB6: Kris Boyd
CB7: Tye Smith
CB8: Parry Nickerson


S1: Harrison Smith
S2: Xavier Woods
S3: Myles Dorn
S4: Camryn Bynum
S5: Josh Metellus
S6: Luther Kirk

Special Teams


K1:  Greg Joseph


P1: Britton Colquitt

Long Snapper

LS1: Andrew DePaola

Kick Returner

KR1: Ameer Abdullah
KR2: Kene Nwangwu

Punt Returner

PR1: Ameer Abdullah
PR2: K.J. Osborn
PR3: Chad Beebe
PR4: Ihmir Smith-Marsette