Vikings Release First Depth Chart of 2019

Image courtesy of

On Monday, in advance of the Friday night showdown against the New Orleans Saints, the Minnesota Vikings released the first preseason depth chart of 2019. Although roles could change leading up to the regular season, here’s a look at how the 90-man roster is currently comprised in eyes of the coaching staff.


QB: 8 Kirk Cousins, 4 Sean Mannion, 1 Kyle Sloter, 3 Jake Browning

HB: 33 Dalvin Cook, 25 Alexander Mattison, 31 Ameer Abdullah, 23 Mike Boone, 32 De’Angelo Henderson

FB: 30 CJ Ham, 48 Khari Blasingame

WR: 19 Adam Thielen, 12 Chad Beebe, 11 Laquon Treadwell, 15 Brandon Zylstra, 81 Bisi Johnson, 16 Davion Davis

WR: 14 Stefon Diggs, 18 Jordan Taylor, 13 Jeff Badet, 17 Dillon Mitchell, 85 Alexander Hollins

TE: 82 Kyle Rudolph, 84 Irv Smith Jr., 83 Tyler Conklin, 89 (David Morgan), 87 Cole Hikutini, 86 Brandon Dillon

LT: 71 Riley Reiff, 76 Aviante Collins, 72 Storm Norton

LG: 65 Pat Elflein, 78 Dakota Dozier, 79 Tyler Catalina

C: 56 Garrett Bradbury, 61 Brett Jones, 67 Cornelius Edison, 52 John Keenoy

RG: 64 Josh Kline, 63 Danny Isidora, 73 Dru Samia

RT: 75 Brian O’Neill, 69 Rashod Hill, 74 Oli Udoh


LE: 99 Danielle Hunter, 95 Ifeadi Odenigbo, 79 Karter Schult, 74 Stacy Keely, 90 (Tashawn Bower)

DT: 93 Shamar Stephen, 92 Jalyn Holmes, 51 Hercules Mata’afa, 60 Curtis Cothran

NT: 98 Linval Joseph, 94 Jaleel Johnson, 96 Armon Watts, 60 Tito Odenigbo

RE: 97 Everson Griffen; 91 Stephen Weatherly, 68 Ade Aruna, 62 Anree Saint-Amour

WLB: 42 Ben Gedeon, 50 Eric Wilson, 43 Reshard Cliett

MLB: 54 Eric Kendricks, 40 Kentrell Brothers, 59 Cameron Smith

SLB: 55 Anthony Barr, 57 Devante Downs, 45 Greer Martini

LCB: 26 Trae Waynes, 21 (Mike Hughes), 36 Craig James, 34 Duke Thomas, 44 Nate Meadors

RCB: 29 Xavier Rhodes, 20 Mackensie Alexander, 49 Bené Benwikere, 38 Kris Boyd, 24 Holton Hill

FS: 22 Harrison Smith, 37 Derron Smith, 35 Isaiah Wharton

SS: 41 Anthony Harris, 27 Jayron Kearse, 39 Marcus Epps

Special teams

K: 5 Dan Bailey

P: 6 Matt Wile

LS: 47 Kevin McDermott, 58 Austin Cutting

KR: 31 Ameer Abdullah, 13 Jeff Badet, 81 Bisi Johnson

PR: 31 Ameer Abdullah, 12 Chad Beebe, 17 Dillon Mitchell

(Physically Unable to Perform/Non-Football Injury)


A few takeaways from the first depth chart of 2019:

  • Running back Alexander Mattison is listed as the backup to starter Dalvin Cook. Rookies generally don’t climb up the depth chart quickly with Mike Zimmer at the helm but Mattison has impressed throughout camp. It’ll be interesting to see what kind of role he ultimately plays in the Vikings’ new offense.
  • Ameer Abdullah is listed as both the starting kick returner and punt returner. A young group of wide receivers makes up the depth behind him at both positions…
  • Chad Beebe and Dillon Mitchell are listed as backups at punt returner while Jeff Badet and Bisi Johnson are listed as backups at kick returner.
  • The wide receiver groups are led by Adam Thielen and Stefon Diggs. Chad Beebe and Jordan Taylor are listed at No. 2 behind the starters. With Beebe the presumed No. 3, that leaves Taylor at No. 4, meaning Laquon Treadwell is currently at No. 5.
  • There weren’t any surprises with the quarterback depth. Sean Mannion is listed as the backup to Kirk Cousins while Kyle Sloter and Jake Browning are No. 3 and No. 4, respectively. It’s worth noting that head coach Mike Zimmer said on Monday that Mannion hasn’t necessarily separated himself from the pack as the No. 2 quarterback.
  • Rookie tight end Irv Smith Jr. is listed as the backup to starter Kyle Rudolph and Tyler Conklin is presently ahead of David Morgan, who has been rehabbing from offseason knee surgery.
  • Veteran long-snapper Kevin McDermott has the early lead over rookie Austin Cutting.
  • Defensive tackle Jalyn Holmes is currently listed as the backup at three-technique over Hercules Mata’afa.
  • Try not to look too much into depth chart No. 1 as a lot can change quickly. The first preseason game is Friday night.