The Hall of Fame selection process and enshrinement festivities is just another great way in which the NFL keeps us all paying attention on a year-round basis, even during the quietest of quiet periods of the offseason.

With Mick Tingelhoff officially selected to the Hall of Fame, I got to wondering who could possibly end up being the next Viking to get in. Then I had a hunch that this could end up being a greatly debated topic and figured you guys might like to hash it out in the comments section this week.

For starters, let’s review the purple fellows that have already made it to Canton:

  • Mick Tingelhoff
  • Cris Carter
  • Chris Doleman
  • John Randle
  • Gary Zimmerman
  • Randall McDaniel
  • Carl Eller
  • Ron Yary
  • Paul Krause
  • Bud Grant
  • Jim Finks
  • Alan Page
  • Fran Tarkenton

Others that have reached the Hall of Fame, but don’t really identify as true Vikings include:  Hugh McElhenny, Norm Van Brocklin, Jim Langer, Jan Stenarud, Dave Casper, and Warren Moon.

Here is a poll containing the players I thought might best fit the bill for our next Hall of Famer, keeping the obligatory wait time in mind. Don’t be afraid to hit “OTHER” and tell me in the comments section who it is I missed, either.